Two Princesses and a Boy (an eavesdropped conversation)

                    EMILIANA
Daddy, I’m a princess. Daddy, I’m a princess. Daddy! I am a princess! Look, look, look at me.

                    MICHAEL
I hear you. I look at you. I like you. You are a beautiful princess. Now, go and play.

                    EMILIANA
Niko, you are a princess too.

                    NIKOLAS
No, I’m not. I’m not a princess. I disagree. I’m a boy. Boys can’t be princesses.

                    EMILIANA
Yes, Niko, you are. You’re a princess. Boys can be princesses as well.

                    NIKOLAS
Daddy, Mili is calling me a princess. I’m not a princess. I’m a boy.

                    MICHAEL
Mili, don’t call your brother a princess. Just don’t. He’s a boy.

                    EMILIANA
Daddy, but you are a princess, aren’t you?

                    MICHAEL
Yes, I am. I’m definitely a princess.

                    EMILIANA
Daddy, Daddy, stand up. Here’s your crown.

* * *
Две принцессы и мальчик

